The Light Swap 6

This week features the final two books from the Light swap.

 

Light

TB 1

TB 2

TB 3

My book for the Light Swap started with the search for a text. “Light” by Rabindranath Tagore seemed perfect, and I chose handmade paper from Papeterie St. Armand – golden yellow for the book, and plum for the wrapper.

The poem mentions lilies and jasmine, so I made linocuts of the two flowers. While I was setting the type, I thought of using a simple structure I had learned from Ed Hutchins and while I was playing with the image and text proofs, it occurred to me that I could print the poem inside the structure instead of on the surface. Then I thought it would be interesting to find a way to light the text. I called a friend who teaches in the Engineering faculty at MUN who put me in touch with an electrical engineer who made some suggestions. A classroom kit for learning about circuits seemed just the thing, as it uses adhesive-backed copper tape and mini LED lights.

With the addition of a few dingbats, everything came together!

Tara Bryan

 

Light

LC 1 LC 2 LC 3

When starting my book I had so many ideas for “Light”. My mind went off on a tangent and just whirled around until I had to come back down to earth and start to really think about me and the word light. I love stitching and thought “Hey the stitch mark makes a point for light”.

So was born a book with stitching. The initial page was machine stitched, then folded, and the pockets were hand sewn with a blanket stitched edge. I thought about how the viewer could interact with this book and create their own light. Using spools of threads for the shapes and sizes of the circles (staying with the stitch theme) I cut holes in the paper to allow the viewer to peek through to see different dark and light colours. The pockets held slips of paper that could be taken out or turned over for a different value of colour. This book was designed to be interactive.

This was a fun project and I am thankful to have been able to participate.

Leann Clifford

 

If you have a question about any of these books, please contact us at cbbagsk@gmail.com. Your question will be forwarded to the appropriate artist.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Swap, Member Exhibitions

Leave a Reply

